2017: A rough start

“Even though I tend to believe time is just a construct of human perception and I struggle to understand why we treat new years as a magical fix-it for our lives, I still hope that this 2017 we’re resolved to treat ourselves better by filling our lives with good people, good values and good memories…”

That was my Facebook status on New Year’s Eve… I felt rightfully hypocritical as I completed writing down my 2017 resolutions shortly after that.

Top of the list: be healthy.

The universe does have a sense of humor though as a few days into 2017, I was struck numb and itchy by Chikungunya.

Chikungunya is a viral disease transmitted to humans by infected mosquitoes. It causes fever and severe joint pain. Joint pain is often debilitating and can vary in duration. There is no cure for the disease and treatment is focused on relieving the symptoms. – WHO

So basically it hurts like hell and you are uncomfortable all the time. Don’t expect to sleep it off too because the itch won’t let you and the antihistamines won’t do much for you.

May this be the first and last time I have to stay in bed all day for a week… in pain.

I hope you, whoever is reading this, steer clear of pesky mosquitoes.

Still scratching myself,

Cuckooface

Leave a Reply

